Secondary Sources on the Internet

Author’s note:

Works which I believe would be of particular interest to readers are marked with an asterisk (*).

Internet resources

  American Philosophical Society. “History,” online at www.amphilsoc.org

* Baer, Christopher T. “A General Chronology of the Pennsylvania Railroad Company Predecessors and Successors and its Historical Context.” The Pennsylvania Railroad Technical & Historical Society, online at http://www.prrths.com/

  “Chicago’s Harbors: From the Chicago to the Calumet Rivers.” Encyclopedia of Chicago. http://www.encyclopedia.chicagohistory.org/

  “Clavière, Étienne.” Encyclopedia Britannica, 1911 Edition, Vol. 6. Online at https://en.wikisource.org/

  Columbia College Alumni Association. “Alexander Hamilton CC 1778.” Online at https://www.college.columbia.edu/alumni/content/alexander-hamilton-cc-1778

  Connecticut Herald, June 29, 1817, quoted in “Monroe’s 1817 Tour of the North,”online at https://highland.org, the website of Monroe’s Highland Home.

  Crawford, Alan Pell. “Washington, Madison and Jefferson.” George Washington’s Mount Vernon. mountvernon.org

  “Etienne Dumont.” Historical Dictionary of Switzerland. Online at https://hls-dhs-dss.ch/de/articles/015886/2006-02-21/

Founders Online, U.S. National Archives. https://founders.archives.gov/

  “François d’Ivernois.” Historical Dictionary of Switzerland. Online at https://hls-dhs-dss.ch/fr/articles/015893/2009-02-10/

  “Jacques-Antoine Du Roveray.” Historical Dictionary of Switzerland. Online at https://hls-dhs-dss.ch/de/articles/025693/2009-09-14/

* Kotlensky, T. Arron. “West Point Foundry and the Great Works of Mechanical Engineering before the Civil War.” American Society of Mechanical Engineers. Scenic Hudson webpage, online at https://www.scenichudson.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/ASME.WPFP_.brochure.pdf

  Ksander, Yaël. “The Canal Era.” https://indianapublicmedia.org/momentofindianahistory/the-canal-era/

  National Ocean Service, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Service. “What is Geodesy?” https://oceanservice.noaa.gov/welcome.html

  “Pennsylvania and Ohio Canal.” Newton Falls, Ohio, Public Library. https://www.newtonfalls.org/genealogy

  Poe, Edgar Allan. 1829 letter to Isaac Lea. Edgar Allan Poe Society. https://www.eapoe.org/

  “Railroad Pioneers, 2: The West Point Foundry Locomotives,” Postscripts (online blog), April 9, 2012. http://notorc.blogspot.com/2012/04/railroad-pioneers-2-west-point-foundry.html
“Reading Line Firsts,” Iron Horse Image Gallery. https://web.archive.org/web/20020814060712/http://www.geocities.com/ironhorseusa2000/firsts.htm

  Rickey, V. Frederick, and Shell-Gellasch, Amy. “Mathematics Education at West Point: The First Hundred Years – Charles Davies, Mathematics Professor, 1823-1837.” Mathematical Association of America. https://www.maa.org/

  Rickey, V. Frederick. “Sylvanus Thayer, USMA 1808,” online at fredrickey.info

  “Shays’ Rebellion & the Making of a Nation.” Springfield Technical Community College, online at http://shaysrebellion.stcc.edu/

  Smithsonian Institution, National Museum of American History. “Locomotive model, ‘Brother Jonathan,’” online at https://americanhistory.si.edu/collections

  Smithsonian National Museum of American History. “Sylvanus Thayer.” West Point in the Making of America, online at https://americanhistory.si.edu/

* Whitford, Noble E. “History of the Canal System of the State of New York.” New York State Engineer and Surveyor, 1906, Vol. 1, online at https://www.eriecanal.org/

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.